Le castle de Pontivy, formerly owned by the Rohan family, is one of the very last fortified castles built in Brittany in the Middle Ages. With its squat appearance and numerous decorations and openings, the architecture of this castle will appeal to you.

Changes to visits to Château de Pontivy

Work is currently underway at the Château de Pontivy. Visits are therefore suspended until July 2024..

The new visit Medieval Pontivy invites you to visit the medieval quarter and discover the history of the castle from the outside.

2014, a wall collapses

Since February 2014, the château has been closed to the public for restoration work and archaeological excavations. During the school holidays, the tourist office opens its doors to the public for a 1? hour guided tour of the building.

Discover the history of this château, a technological jewel of its time commissioned by Viscount Jean II de Rohan.

Guided tour in the footsteps of the Rohans

Follow one of our enthusiastic guides along the Blavet west of the medieval quarter to retrace the history of the famous Rohan family, who built the château.

The exterior

When you arrive in front of this imposing fortress, go back in time to number 12.e century with the birth of this dynasty. Here you can discover the history of the most important family in Central Brittany as it has grown over the years. Pontivy became their capital in 1396! 

The interior

Continue your tour through the castle gate and into the heart of the courtyard. All around you, the last remaining elements of the castle rise up: galleries, towers, chapel and artillery terrace. Their history will be told to you as you enter these areas, which are closed to the public. You'll learn about its construction period, its defensive and residential architecture, its modifications and restorations, its destruction, its collapse and its more recent closure to the public...

Visits must be booked in advance with the Pontivy Communauté Tourist Office.

Places are limited.

Visits to the castle are also bookable for groups.

 

Departure from the Boutique Côté Tourisme, 21 quai Presbourg, 56300 PONTIVY.

Opening times

There will be no visits inside Pontivy castle until July 2024.

Was this content helpful?

Save

Share this content

Le château de Pontivy, anciennement propriété de la famille de Rohan, est l’un des tout derniers châteaux-forts construit en Bretagne au Moyen-Âge. À l’aspect trapu et orné de nombreux décors et ouvertures, l’architecture de ce château vous interpellera.

Modification des visites au château de Pontivy

Des travaux sont en cours de réalisation au château de Pontivy. Les visites y sont donc arrêtées jusque juillet 2024.

La nouvelle visite Pontivy médiévale vous propose de visiter le quartier médiéval et découvrir l’Histoire de ce château par ses extérieurs.

2014, un mur s’effondre

Depuis février 2014, le château est fermé au public pour cause de restauration et de fouilles archéologiques. Lors des vacances scolaires, l’office de tourisme vous ouvre ses portes pour une visite guidée historique de l’édifice d’une durée d’1h30.

Découvrez l’histoire de ce château, bijou technologique de son époque commandité par le vicomte Jean II de Rohan.

La visite guidée sur les traces des Rohan

Suivez l’un de nos guides passionnés et longez le Blavet à l’ouest du quartier médiéval pour retracer les moments forts de la célèbre famille de Rohan, à l’origine de la construction de ce château.

L’extérieur

Lorsque vous arriverez devant cette imposante forteresse, remontez le temps au 12e siècle avec la naissance de cette dynastie. Vous y découvrirez l’histoire de la famille la plus importante du Centre-Bretagne qui s’est construite au fil des années. Pontivy est devenue leur capitale en 1396 ! 

L’intérieur

Poursuivez votre visite en passant la porte du château et rejoignez le cœur de la cour. Autour de vous, les derniers éléments du château encore présents s’élèvent : galeries, tours, chapelle et terrasse d’artillerie. Leur histoire vous sera contée tout en pénétrant dans ces lieux fermés au public. Vous seront évoqués : sa période de construction, son architecture défensive et résidentielle, ses modifications et restaurations, ses destructions, son effondrement et sa fermeture au public plus récemment…

Visite sur réservation auprès de l’Office de Tourisme de Pontivy Communauté.

Places limitées.

Les visites au château sont également réservables pour les groupes.

 

Départ de la Boutique Côté Tourisme, 21 quai Presbourg, 56300 PONTIVY.

Les horaires de visites

Pas de visite à l’intérieur du château de Pontivy avant juillet 2024.

Ce contenu vous a été utile ?

Enregistrer

Partager ce contenu