Religious heritage is very present in the territory of Pontivy Community. Whether it is an abbey, a church or a chapel, these jewels number in the hundreds and will amaze you and take you through the centuries! Some of them are more unusual than others but all of them have a history and undeniable charm of our territory. 

Not to be missed

To allow you to discover it with complete peace of mind, we have put together a small selection of buildings not to be missed. So go for a walk and pay close attention to your surroundings, there are jewels right before your eyes.

Chapels

Our Lady of Quelven

To the south of our territory, the imposing Notre-Dame de Quelven chapel in Guern, 70 meters high, overlooks the charming village of Quelven. Observe it in its smallest details to discover all its richness without forgetting its Scala Sancta, the square loggia located outside. 

Yohann Hamonic

Unusual chapels

Enter these heritage places rich in objects, paintings and stories.

Our Lady of Carmes

To the north, go through the door of the Notre-Dame de Carmès chapel in Neulliac. As part of Art in the Chapels, a guide accompanies you under the vault where you will be amazed to see magnificent painted paneling dating from the 15e and 17e centuries.

During your walks, observe the significant presence of crosses and calvaries along our roads and paths. They are the witnesses of our history, located at intersections which were very important to the daily life of yesteryear.

A few meters from the chapels, before your eyes, very special fountains will rise such as those of the Trinity in Cléguérec, to the west, or from Sainte-Noyale in Noyal-Pontivy, to the east. Some are sources of miraculous beliefs with therapeutic powers.

Other features of our territory are available to you, this time in the east. In the hamlet of Saint-Fiacre in Radenac, the building is made up of a double chapel, built one after the other, at 15e and 16e centuries.

Complete your journey with our countless chapels:

Art in chapels

From July to September, enter chapels whose history is told to you by guides. These chapels are open as part of the manifestation of Art in chapels.

Timadeuc Abbey

A stone's throw from it, in Bréhan, stands an abbey from the 19the century: Timadeuc Abbey. The latter is always occupied by Cistercian-Trappist monks who will show you their domain and taste their delicious products such as fruit paste or cheese. 

To complete your address book, note:

  • Bon Repos Abbey in Bon-Repos-sur-Blavet
  • Saint-Mériadec church in Stival
  • the imperial church of Saint-Joseph in Pontivy.

Was this content useful to you?

Le patrimoine religieux est très présent sur le territoire de Pontivy Communauté. Qu’il s’agisse d’abbaye, d’église ou de chapelle, ces joyaux se comptent par centaines et sauront vous émerveiller et vous faire traverser les siècles ! Certains d’entre elles sont plus insolites que d’autres mais toutes sont dotées d’une histoire et d’un charme indéniable de notre territoire. 

Les incontournables

Pour vous permettre de le découvrir en toute sérénité, nous vous avons concocté une petite sélection d’édifices à ne pas manquer. Partez ainsi en balade et soyez bien attentifs à ce qui vous entoure, des bijoux se trouvent sous vos yeux.

Les chapelles

Notre-Dame de Quelven

Au sud de notre territoire, l’imposante chapelle Notre-Dame de Quelven à Guern de 70 mètres de hauteur surplombe le charmant village de Quelven. Observez-la dans ses moindres détails pour y découvrir toute sa richesse sans oublier sa Scala Sancta, la loggia carrée située à l’extérieur. 

Yohann Hamonic

Des chapelles insolites

Entrez dans ces lieux patrimoniaux riches en objets, peintures et d’histoires.

Notre-Dame de Carmès

Au nord, franchissez la porte de la chapelle Notre-Dame de Carmès à Neulliac. Dans le cadre de l’Art dans les Chapelles, un guide vous accompagne sous la voûte où vous serez ébahi de voir de magnifiques lambris peints datés des 15e et 17e siècles.

Lors de vos balades, observez la présence importante de croix et calvaires au bord de nos routes et chemins. Ce sont les témoins de notre histoire, situés à des croissements qui étaient très importants à la vie quotidienne d’antan.

À quelques mètres des chapelles, sous vos yeux, s’élèveront des fontaines très particulières telles que celles de la Trinité à Cléguérec, à l’ouest, ou de Sainte-Noyale à Noyal-Pontivy, à l’est. Certaines sont sources de croyances miraculeuses à pouvoirs thérapeutiques.

D’autres particularités de notre territoire s’offrent à vous, cette fois-ci à l’est. Dans le hameau Saint-Fiacre à Radenac, l’édifice est formé d’une double chapelle, construite l’une après l’autre, aux 15e et 16e siècles.

Complétez votre parcours avec nos innombrables chapelles :

L'art dans les chapelles

De juillet à septembre, entrez dans des chapelles dont l’histoire vous est contée par des guides. Ces chapelles sont ouvertes dans le cadre de la manifestation de L’art dans les chapelles.

Abbaye de Timadeuc

À deux pas de celle-ci, à Bréhan, se dresse une abbaye du 19e siècle : l’abbaye de Timadeuc. Cette dernière est toujours occupée par des moines cisterciens-trappistes qui vous feront découvrir leur domaine et goûter leurs délicieux produits comme la pâte de fruit ou le fromage. 

Pour compléter votre carnet d’adresses, notez :

  • l’abbaye de Bon Repos à Bon-Repos-sur-Blavet
  • l’église Saint-Mériadec à Stival
  • l’église impériale Saint-Joseph à Pontivy.

Ce contenu vous a été utile ?

Enregistrer

Partager ce contenu