The unmissable and imposing Château de Pontivy, formerly Château des Rohan, rises north of the town center of Pontivy. On the heights of the city and buried in the Vauban style, it dates from the end of the Middle Ages. Its construction was launched by Jean II de Rohan, nicknamed the “Grand Viscount” thanks to his impressive wealth. 

Changes to visits to Pontivy Castle

Work is underway at Pontivy Castle. Visits to the interior of the castle are therefore stopped until the end of the work. A historical tour of the exteriors of Pontivy Castle exists! Find it here.

The new visit Medieval Pontivy invites you to visit the medieval district and discover the history of this castle through its exteriors.

Long before its construction, other castles were in town. The first, a feudal motte, would have been built in the 12the century and the second, a fortress probably made of stones, would have replaced it after its destruction and was also destroyed, in the middle of the 14e century. Pontivy thus became the capital of the Rohan family without having a castle! It will remain so almost 100 years after building the current one. This last castle is considered to be a technological jewel of its time since it was necessary to wait almost 100 years before modifying it defensively!  

Over the centuries, transformations will appear. The 18the century will be the most important period, moving from a defensive castle to an exclusively residential castle. Openings are enlarged, one of the walkways is partly closed to make way for the bedroom of the Duchess of Rohan…  

Yohann Hamonic

Only half of this castle remains! Two towers out of four and two galleries out of three.

In February 2014, following a very rainy winter, the south curtain wall collapsed. A major reconstruction and renovation project has been launched. Which explains its closure to the public since that date. Exceptionally, the castle opens its doors to you during guided tours proposed by the Pontivy Community Tourist Office, European Heritage Days or any other one-off event.

The guided tours from the tourist office take place during school holidays. They will immerse you in the Middle Ages, discovering the rich and tumultuous history of this castle in the heart of Brittany: its construction, its restorations, its role in the defense of the city. A specific fun visit is intended for the youngest while a dramatized visit suggests traveling to the time of the Rohan family. You will be amazed and come away with many anecdotes!

Was this content useful to you?

L’incontournable et imposant château de Pontivy, anciennement château des Rohan, s’élève au nord du centre-ville de Pontivy. Sur les hauteurs de la ville et enterré façon style Vauban, il est daté de la fin du Moyen-Âge. Sa construction fut lancée par Jean II de Rohan, surnommé le « Grand vicomte » grâce à son impressionnante richesse. 

Changements des visites au château de Pontivy

Des travaux sont en cours de réalisation au château de Pontivy. Les visites à l’intérieur du château y sont donc arrêtées jusque la fin des travaux. Une visite historique des extérieurs du château de Pontivy existe! Trouvez-la ici.

La nouvelle visite Pontivy médiévale vous propose de visiter le quartier médiéval et découvrir l’Histoire de ce château par ses extérieurs.

Bien avant sa construction, d’autres châteaux se trouvaient en ville. Le premier, une motte féodale, aurait été construit au 12e siècle et le second, une forteresse probablement en pierres, l’aurait remplacée après sa destruction et fût également détruite, au milieu du 14e siècle. Pontivy est ainsi devenue la capitale de la famille de Rohan sans avoir de château ! Elle le restera près de 100 ans après avoir édifié l’actuel. Ce dernier château est considéré comme étant un bijou technologique de son époque puisqu’il aura fallu attendre près de 100 ans avant de le modifier défensivement !  

Au fil des siècles, des transformations vont apparaître. Le 18e siècle sera l’époque la plus importante, passant d’un château défensif à un château exclusivement résidentiel. Des ouvertures sont agrandies, un des chemins de ronde est en parti fermé pour laisser place à la chambre de la Duchesse de Rohan…  

Yohann Hamonic

De ce château, il n’en reste plus qu’une moitié ! Deux tours sur quatre et deux galeries sur trois.

En février 2014, à la suite d’un hiver très pluvieux, la courtine sud s’effondre. Un important chantier de reconstruction et de rénovation est lancé. Ce qui explique sa fermeture au public depuis cette date. Exceptionnellement, le château vous ouvre ses portes lors de visites guidées proposées par l’Office de Tourisme de Pontivy Communauté, des Journées Européennes du Patrimoine ou tout autre évènement ponctuel.

Les visites guidées de l’office de tourisme prennent lieu durant les vacances scolaires. Elles vous plongeront dans le Moyen-Âge, à la découverte de l’histoire riche et tumultueuse de ce château au cœur de la Bretagne : sa construction, ses restaurations, son rôle dans la défense de la ville. Une visite ludique spécifique est destinée aux plus jeunes tandis qu’une visite théâtralisée propose de voyager au temps de la famille des Rohan. Vous en prendrez plein les yeux et ressortirez avec de nombreuses anecdotes !

Ce contenu vous a été utile ?