Pontivy, a city with two faces, unique in France, both the medieval capital of the very powerful family of the Lords of Rohan, but also one of only two French cities rebuilt by Napoleon Ier.

According to legend, the city was founded in the 7e century by a religious from Great Britain. Here he built a bridge to cross the river Blavet, the Ivy Bridge: Pontivy. Much later, on the 12e century, the viscounts of Rohan, originally from Josselin and Rohan, were interested in the town of Pontivy because of its ideal strategic location, the surrounding resources and Blavet. Century after century, the town grew in size, so the lords of Rohan decided to make Pontivy their capital. Urban concentration, commercial wealth and military point with its ramparts and its castle, the village transformed into a major city.

With the Renaissance, the strategic interest of the city did not weaken, and the lords of Rohan, now dukes, confirmed Pontivy in its title of capital of the brand new duchy-prairie. An essential point of commerce in Central Brittany, the city began to flourish with half-timbered houses and other private mansions. Following the Edict of Nantes in 1598, Pontivy became one of the only Protestant security places in Brittany.

During the great revolutionary storm of 1789, Pontivy was first a republican stronghold in a royalist zone, before becoming, on the orders of Napoleon Bonaparte, an imperial city under the new name of “Napoleonville”. This, with the construction of a new town, one of only two in France with La Roche-sur-Yon (“Napoléon Vendée”). Goals ? Pacify the region against the royalists and counter the maritime blockade of the English Navy, by supplying the large Breton arsenals thanks to the canal from Nantes to Brest and the channeled Blavet.

As you walk the streets of Pontivy, 1 years of history open up to you! Do you want to learn the anecdotes of this city with two faces? We have a wide range of visits to the city: historical, dramatized, costumed, express. Up to you !

Was this content useful to you?

Pontivy, ville aux deux visages, unique en France, à la fois capitale médiévale de la très puissante famille des seigneurs de Rohan, mais également l’une des deux seules villes françaises reconstruite par Napoléon Ier.

D’après la légende, la ville fut fondée au 7e siècle par un religieux en provenance de Grande-Bretagne. Ici, il construisit un pont pour franchir le fleuve Blavet, le pont d’Ivy : Pontivy. Bien plus tard, au 12e siècle, les vicomtes de Rohan, originaires de Josselin et de Rohan, s’intéressèrent à la bourgade de Pontivy du fait de son emplacement stratégique idéal, des ressources environnantes et du Blavet. Siècle après siècle, la bourgade pris de l’ampleur, ainsi les seigneurs de Rohan décidèrent de faire de Pontivy leur capitale. Concentration urbaine, richesse commerciale et point militaire avec ses remparts et son château, la bourgade fit sa mue en ville d’importance.

Avec la Renaissance, l’intérêt stratégique de la ville ne faibli pas, et les seigneurs de Rohan, désormais ducs, confirmèrent Pontivy dans son titre de capitale du tout nouveau duché-prairie. Point incontournable du commerce en Centre-Bretagne, le cité se mit à fleurir de maisons à colombages et autres hôtels particuliers. Suite à l’Édit de Nantes de 1598, Pontivy devint l’une des seules places de sureté protestante de Bretagne.

Lors de la grande bourrasque révolutionnaire de 1789, Pontivy fut d’abord une place forte républicaine en zone royaliste, avant de devenir, sur ordre de Napoléon Bonaparte, une ville impériale sous le nouveau nom de « Napoléonville ». Cela, avec la construction d’une nouvelle ville, l’une des deux seules de France avec La Roche-sur-Yon (« Napoléon Vendée »). Les objectifs ? Pacifier la région face aux royalistes et contrer le blocus maritime de la Marine anglaise, cela en alimentant les grands arsenaux bretons grâce au canal de Nantes à Brest et au Blavet canalisé.

En arpentant les rues de Pontivy, ce sont 1 000 ans d’Histoire qui s’ouvrent à vous ! Vous voulez apprendre les anecdotes de cette ville à deux visages ? Nous avons une large proposition de visites dans la ville : historiques, théâtralisées, costumées, express. À vous de voir !

Ce contenu vous a été utile ?

Enregistrer

Partager ce contenu