Pontivy is a rich town in Central Brittany with more than 1 years of history! Stroll through the medieval-Renaissance and Napoleonic districts following the guide who will share their treasures with you. Besides, where does the name of the city, Pontivy, come from? You will discover it during the visit!

Pontivy, the city with two faces

The History of a City

Medieval quarter

Follow the chronology of the history of this charming city, starting the visit with the medieval-renaissance district. Its ancient heritage with its unique architecture in narrow cobbled streets rises before you.

Yohann Hamonic

The guide will show you the Notre-Dame-de-Joie basilica, the Place du Martray, the old main streets; rue du Fil and rue du Pont. This old axis is surrounded by colorful half-timbered houses and imposing schist and granite buildings, richly decorated. The Rohan family is represented on certain monuments, keep your eyes peeled and notice these diamonds, called macles, symbols of their coat of arms.

Napoleonic district

The Bonaparte family

The journey continues on 19e century, with two Emperors; Napoleon Ier and Napoleon III. But why talk about them, here, in Central Brittany? Imagine that Pontivy was called Napoléonville several times during this century.

Emmanuel Berthier

A strategic city choice

Napoleon did not choose Pontivy at random. Its geographical position and its stormy history made it focus on this city. A new town plan was drawn up and carried out in the 19th century.

A new neighborhood for a new city

Discover this district with architecture similar to that of Baron Haussmann. With a linear artery of more than a kilometer, with imposing 19th century buildings on both sidese century. The construction of this new district was not Napoleon I's only wish for Pontivy.

Waterways a military strategy

The presence of Blavet and its geographical position are major assets in times of conflict, allowing the construction of the Nantes-Brest canal. But for what reasons? A little patience, the guide will soon explain the Emperor's choices to you.

Visiting hours

Opening hours from June 17 to June 30, 2024
Wednesday Open from 15 a.m. to 16 p.m.
Friday Open from 15 a.m. to 16 p.m.
Opening hours from July 01 to August 31, 2024
Monday Open from 14:30 a.m. to 15:30 p.m.
Tuesday Open from 14:30 a.m. to 15:30 p.m.
Thursday Open from 14:30 a.m. to 15:30 p.m.
Friday Open from 14:30 a.m. to 15:30 p.m.
Saturday Open from 15 a.m. to 16 p.m.
Opening hours from September 01 to September 28, 2024
Wednesday Open from 15 a.m. to 16 p.m.
Friday Open from 15 a.m. to 16 p.m.

The rates

Prices Min. Max.
Reduced price
4 € -
Basic rate
6 € -
18 € -

Visit by reservation at the Pontivy Community Tourist Office.

Places limits.

Departure from the Boutique Côté Tourisme, 21 quai Presbourg, 56300 PONTIVY.

Was this content useful to you?

Pontivy est une ville riche du Centre-Bretagne avec plus de 1 000 ans d’histoire ! Déambulez dans les quartiers médiéval-renaissance et napoléonien en suivant le guide qui vous partagera leurs trésors. D’ailleurs, d’où vient le nom de la ville, Pontivy ? Vous le découvrirez au cours de la visite !

Pontivy, la ville aux deux visages

L’Histoire d’une ville

Quartier médiéval

Suivez la chronologie de l’histoire de cette charmante ville en commençant la visite par le quartier médiéval-renaissance. Son patrimoine ancien à l’architecture singulière dans d’étroites ruelles pavées, s’élève devant vous.

Yohann Hamonic

Le guide vous fera découvrir la basilique Notre-Dame-de-Joie, la place du Martray, les anciennes rues principales ; la rue du Fil et la rue du Pont. Cet ancien axe est cerné de maisons à pans de bois colorés et d’imposants édifices en schiste et granite, richement ornés. La famille de Rohan est représentée sur certains monuments, ouvrez l’œil et remarquez ces losanges, appelés macles, symboles de leur blason.

Quartier napoléonien

La famille Bonaparte

Le voyage se poursuit au 19e siècle, avec deux Empereurs ; Napoléon Ier et Napoléon III. Mais pourquoi parler d’eux, ici, en Centre-Bretagne ? Figurez-vous que Pontivy s’est appelée Napoléonville a plusieurs reprises au cours de ce siècle.

Emmanuel Berthier

Un choix de ville stratégique

Napoléon n’a pas choisi Pontivy au hasard. Sa position géographique et son Histoire tempétueuse lui a fait miser sur cette ville. Un nouveau plan d’urbanisme fut dessiné et réalisé au 19e siècle.

Un nouveau quartier pour une nouvelle ville

Découvrez ce quartier à l’architecture semblable à celle du baron Haussmann. Doté d’une artère linéaire de plus d’un kilomètre, avec de part et d’autres d’imposants bâtiments du 19e siècle. La construction de ce nouveau quartier n’est pas l’unique souhait de Napoléon Ier pour Pontivy.

Les cours d’eau une stratégie militaire

La présence du Blavet et sa position géographique sont des atouts majeurs en période de conflits, permettant alors la construction du canal de Nantes à Brest. Mais pour quelles raisons ? Un peu de patience, le guide ne tardera pas à vous expliquer les choix de l’Empereur.

Tarifs Min. Max.
Tarif réduit
4 €
Tarif de base
6 €
18 €

Visite sur réservation auprès de l’Office de Tourisme de Pontivy Communauté.

Places limitées.

Départ de la Boutique Côté Tourisme, 21 quai Presbourg, 56300 PONTIVY.

Ce contenu vous a été utile ?

Enregistrer

Partager ce contenu