Emmanuel Berthier

From the Notre-Dame-de-Joie basilica, walk the narrow cobbled streets lined with old buildings and reach the Château de Pontivy.

You will be immersed in the organization of the ancient city and that of the daily life of its inhabitants.

This historic heart will take you centuries back with its typical architecture from the end of the Middle Ages and the beginning of the Renaissance. Nearly 50 half-timbered houses and stone mansions such as the Maison du Sénéchal or the Hôtel de Roscoët rise before you, sometimes in narrow streets, which makes them all the more astonishing!

One detail will surely stand out to you during your visit to Pontivy: the mâcle! This is the emblem of the famous Rohan family, present on their coat of arms. Find it on several buildings in the city, hammered or intact, from the Basilica of Notre-Dame-de-Joie to the Château de Pontivy!

Yohann Hamonic

Both a fortress and a stately residence of the great Rohan family, the castle will reveal its many lives to you from its exterior. From its construction to today, through its more or less significant events over the centuries, discover part of the history of this technological gem.

Linen had an important place in Pontivy

The city experienced a period of significant prosperity, from the 16e the 18e century, thanks to the manufacture and sale of linen fabrics.

Come and learn more by following one of our guides through the alleys of Pontivy!

Prices Min. Max.
Basic rate
7 € -
Reduced price
5 € -
Basic rate
22 € -

Visit by reservation at the Pontivy Community Tourist Office.

Departures: Boutique Côté Tourisme, 21 quai Pressbourg, 56300 PONTIVY

Was this content useful to you?

Emmanuel Berthier

Depuis la basilique Notre-Dame-de-Joie, parcourez les étroites ruelles pavées bordées d’édifices anciens et rejoignez le château de Pontivy.

Vous serez plongé dans l’organisation de la ville ancienne et celle de la vie quotidienne de ses habitants.

Ce cœur historique vous plongera des siècles en arrière avec son architecture typique de la fin du Moyen-Âge et du début de la Renaissance. Près de 50 maisons à colombages et des hôtels particuliers en pierres tels que la maison du Sénéchal ou l’hôtel de Roscoët s’élèvent devant vous, parfois dans d’étroites ruelles, ce qui les rends d’autant plus étonnants !

Un détail vous marquera sûrement au cour de votre visite à Pontivy : le mâcle ! Il s’agit de l’emblème de la célèbre famille de Rohan, présent sur leur blason. Retrouverez-le sur plusieurs édifices de la ville, martelé ou intact, de la Basilique Notre-Dame-de-Joie au château de Pontivy !

Yohann Hamonic

À la fois forteresse et résidence seigneuriale de la grande famille des Rohan, le château vous dévoilera, depuis ses extérieurs, ses nombreuses vies. De sa construction à aujourd’hui, en passant par ses péripéties plus ou moins marquantes au fil des siècles, découvrez une partie de l’histoire de ce bijou technologique.

Le lin avait une place importante à Pontivy

La ville a connu une période de prospérité importante, du 16e au 18e siècle, grâce à la fabrication et la vente de toiles de lin.

Venez en apprendre davantage en suivant un de nos guides dans les ruelles pontivyennes !

Horaires d'ouverture du 27 février au 07 mars 2024
Mardi Ouvert de 15h à 16h15
Jeudi Ouvert de 15h à 16h15
Tarifs Min. Max.
Tarif de base
7 €
Tarif réduit
5 €
Tarif de base
22 €

Visite sur réservation auprès de l’Office de Tourisme de Pontivy Communauté.

Départs : Boutique Côté Tourisme, 21 quai Presbourg, 56300 PONTIVY

Ce contenu vous a été utile ?

Enregistrer

Partager ce contenu