The imperial district of Pontivy was built under Napoleon.

A point of history

In 1802, following almost ten years of civil war in the West between royalists and republicans, Napoleon Bonaparte, then first consul of the Republic, ordered the creation of two new cities: Napoleonville (Pontivy) and Napoléon-Vendée (Roche-sur-Yon). Shortly after, Napoleon Ier, then Emperor, jointly launched the construction of the Breton canals to counter the English maritime blockade. At the center of this system, Napoléonville connects Lorient thanks to the Channeled Blavet, and being at the center of canal from Nantes to Brest, also connects these last two.

Napoleonic architecture

This is why you will find in Pontivy a succession of Napoleonic complexes that have been completely preserved for almost two centuries:

The canal

Yohann Hamonic

First, the canal towpaths. They will allow you to explore the city from side to side in peaceful tranquility. Reserved for pedestrians and cyclists, you can explore the historic city center in complete safety, from the medieval-Renaissance district to the Napoleonic district.

Urban plan

The streets of the Napoleonic district are in total contrast to the streets of the medieval-renaissance district. You will feel like you are changing cities. Large, wide and straight streets, designed for better circulation, organize the new town.

Yohann Hamonic

Walk the streets of Napoléonville in the footsteps of the Emperors, Napoleon I and Napoleon III. Its architecture will surely make you think of Baron Haussmann's Parisian district.

Administrative buildings

Yohann Hamonic

La Place Aristide Briand (la Plaine), former Place Napoléon, is the beating heart of Napoléonville. La Plaine, symbol of Napoleonic power, is embraced by: the town hall and the sub-prefecture, the old court, the old cavalry barracks and the 19th century mansions.e century.

Imperial Church

Behind the town hall and the sub-prefecture, a green setting appears in the city center: Square Langlier. This park houses in its center the imperial church of Saint-Joseph, a gift from Emperor Napoleon III, following his visit to Napoleonville in August 1858. The first stone of this church was laid by Princess Élisa Napoléone Baciocchi, Napoleon's cousin III, and niece of Napoleon Ier.

Races

Last step, the Napoleonville station. Built during the Second Empire of Napoleon III, this station was the railway hub of Central Brittany, connecting the north coast and the south coast of the Breton peninsula. The current reception hall contains a treasure: the old exterior pediment of the station, the inscription “Napoléonville” is still present.

Finally, the “rue Nationale”, formerly “rue Impériale”, the true backbone of the city of Pontivy, connects the new town to the old town. This street stretches over 1 kilometer in length!

Continue your stroll through the Napoleonic district by participating in a guided tour. Young or old, pressed for time, there is something for everyone and all tastes!

Was this content useful to you?

Le quartier impérial de Pontivy a été construit sous Napoléon.

Un point d’histoire

En 1802, suite à presque dix années de guerre civile dans l’Ouest entre royalistes et républicains, Napoléon Bonaparte, alors premier consul de la République, ordonna la création de deux villes nouvelles : Napoléonville (Pontivy) et Napoléon-Vendée (Roche-sur-Yon). Peu de temps après, Napoléon Ier, alors Empereur, lança conjointement la construction des canaux bretons pour contrer le blocus maritime anglais. Au centre de ce dispositif, Napoléonville relie Lorient grâce au Blavet canalisé, et étant au centre du canal de Nantes à Brest, relie aussi ces deux dernières.

Architecture napoléonienne

C’est pourquoi, vous trouverez à Pontivy une succession d’ensembles napoléoniens totalement préservés depuis près de deux siècles :

Le canal

Yohann Hamonic

D’abord, les chemins de halage des canaux. Ils vous permettront d’arpenter la ville de part en part dans une douce quiétude. Réservés aux piétons et cyclistes, vous pourrez parcourir, en toute sécurité, le centre-ville historique, du quartier médiéval-renaissance jusqu’au quartier napoléonien.

Plan urbanistique

Les rues du quartier napoléonien sont en contraste total avec les rues du quartier médiéval-renaissance. Vous aurez l’impression de changer de ville. De grandes rues larges et rectilignes, pensées pour une meilleure circulation, organisent la ville nouvelle.

Yohann Hamonic

Arpentez les rues de Napoléonville sur les traces des Empereurs, Napoléon Ier et Napoléon III. Son architecture vous fera sûrement penser au quartier parisien du baron Haussmann.

Bâtiments administratifs

Yohann Hamonic

La place Aristide Briand (la Plaine), ancienne place Napoléon, est le cœur battant de Napoléonville. La Plaine, symbole du pouvoir napoléonien, est enlacée par : la mairie et la sous-préfecture, l’ancien tribunal, l’ancienne caserne de cavalerie et les hôtels particuliers du 19e siècle.

Église impériale

Derrière la mairie et la sous-préfecture, un écrin de verdure fait son apparition dans le centre-ville : le square Langlier. Ce parc abrite en son centre l’église impériale Saint-Joseph, cadeau de l’Empereur Napoléon III, suite à sa visite de Napoléonville en août 1858. La première pierre de cette église fut posée par la princesse Élisa Napoléone Baciocchi, cousine de Napoléon III, et nièce de Napoléon Ier.

Gare

Dernière étape, la gare de Napoléonville. Construite au cours du Second Empire de Napoléon III, cette gare fut la plaque tournante ferroviaire du Centre-Bretagne, permettant de relier la côte nord et la côte sud de la péninsule bretonne. Le hall d’accueil actuel renferme un trésor : l’ancien fronton extérieur de la gare, l’inscription « Napoléonville » est toujours présente.

Enfin, la « rue Nationale », autrefois « rue Impériale », véritable colonne vertébrale de la cité de Pontivy, permet de relier la ville nouvelle à la ville ancienne. Cette rue s’étend sur plus de 1 kilomètre de longueur !

Poursuivez votre balade du quartier napoléonien en participant à une visite guidée. Petits ou grands, pressés par le temps, il y en a pour tout le monde et tous les goûts !

Ce contenu vous a été utile ?

Enregistrer

Partager ce contenu